top of page

MD6001 Week 13 - Summary of Aduna Brief Ideas (Updated from 5/1/2015)

For my final major project, I was given the option to work on the Aduna brief or come up with my own idea. I chose to work on my own project, which will be an animated public information film for the National Autistic Society to raise awareness of Asperger syndrome although I also chose to work on the Aduna brief as a side project.

Below are some pieces of experimental work I have produced in case I wanted to work on the Aduna Brief:

Experimental banana and orange pixilation animations - I combined photographs of my fruit cutting experiment to produce the animations. I did this in case I wanted to do something similar with baobab fruit

Baobab snowfall experiment - baobab powder is the key ingredient for the Aduna campaign I originally intended to work towards. Prior to deciding whether to continue with the Aduna brief or my own project, I made an experimental animation on a light box using baobab powder in a similar manner to sand on glass animation. This experiment was projected onto Surbition Station as part of the local Christmas lights switch-on on 27th November 2014. I am quite pleased with this outcome, although it was a time-consuming process and the snowflakes are inconsistent throughout. I may animate using baobab in my Aduna side project.

Below is how the baobab experiment was projected onto Surbiton Station (0:14 - 0:17):

The projection was enlarged in order to make it fit onto the side of Surbiton Station.

Helele (see above) is the most recent recording of a song based on Aieaoa from the 1971 album Le Monde Fabuleaux De Yamazuki. Other versions include A.I.E (A Mwana) from 1975 by Black Blood and Aie A Mwana from 1981 by Bananarama. The Velile and Safri Duo (who also had a hit in 2001 with Played A-Live (The Bongo Song) version was recorded as an official song for the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa, where Velile is from. I first heard this song last year at my aerobics class and when I attended one briefly to deliver goods to one of the attendants, the instructor played this song for the first time in over a year and I 'Shazamed' it on my phone to find out what it was called because I found it very catchy. This song is ideal for Aduna's 'Make Baobab Famous' campaign because of its mixture of traditional African music and modern dance music, which does not make it too cliched. I also like the use of pixilation in this video where the footballers' kits change.

Fruit bouquets.jpg

On Facebook's Did You Know? page, I found these stunning photographs of fruit bouquets that were made in a similar manner to flower arranging. These are very creative ways of using fruit and they inspire me for my initial plan to work with Aduna.

I have also looked at the advertisement for Satsuma Loans. It features stop-motion/computer animated satsuma segments bouncing and running around as well as a singing satsuma named Suzy who sings Tiffany's I Think We're Alone Now as a pun on "I think we're a loan now." This is a funny advertisement that also uses fruit in a creative way.

Banana carrot hug.JPG

Here is a picture I found online of a banana hugging a carrot. This uses both fruit and vegetables in a creative way.

Make Baoboab Famous beat board.jpg

This is a short three-panel beat board I made to illustrate my original concept of Aduna's 'Make Baobab Famous' campaign that I am planning to make as a side project as part of a group collaboration. It involves a baboab fruit vibrating on the spot before exploding, thus emitting the white powder inside. The campaign's message appears inside the powder and the Aduna logo appears at the bottom right-hand corner of the screen. I could animate this using cut-out animation and sand-on-glass animation using baboab powder instead of sand.

This is an animation test I made in Adobe Flash to get an idea of how I would like my cut-out and sand-on-glass animation to look. Although it is short and simple, I am quite pleased with this result but I feel I could have made the pictures of higher quality.

Aduna staff team.jpg

On 15th January 2015, Andrew Hunt and Sophie Capron from Aduna returned alongside fellow colleagues Banasa Williams, Aduna's marketing manager and Chandni Sanghani, Aduna's online community manager (see above), to attend the pitch/group crit. Upon showing the Aduna staff my idea, Andrew liked it, saying the exploding baobab fruit could be "bursting with vibrancy" although he suggested I render it in a more photographic way as well as add music to build up tension.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page